Indoor Football League

The Indoor Football League, otherwise known as the IFL, was formed on August 1, 2008, after United Indoor Footballand the Intense Football League decided to merge. The move came a day prior to the 2008 National Indoor Bowl Championship game, in which United Indoor Football’s top team played the Intense Football League’s top team. The league currently consists of ten teams, up from six in 2018.

On March 13, 2009, the first IFL game kicked off. That season, the Billings Outlaws defeated the River City Rage in the United Bowl 71-62.